Flower crown tutorial

flower crown no leaves

So what’s more summery and fun than a flower crown? They’re perfect for summer festivals or weddings or just because. They’re also fun to make if you’re the crafty type. I read several flower crown tutorials and came up with my own technique, so I decided to write my own tutorial for you.
001 005
You will need:
Flowers – you can buy cheap ones at the dollar store but I recommend buying higher end flowers as the ones at the dollar store are not the best quality
Boning – I bought the cloth covered kind at Hancock’s Fabrics for $3.49 a yard
Tacky Glue
Floral wire – I bought the covered kind at WalMart for $0.97 for 24 pieces
Scissors
Ribbon – if you’re buying it by the yard you will need about a yard and a half
Hot glue gun
Wire cutters
Needle and thread
Step 1: Cut the boning to fit around your head and sew the ends of the boning together. This part doesn’t have to be pretty, it just has to be secure.007
Step 2: Pull the heads of the flowers off the stems and arrange them around the boning until you are satisfied with the look. This also lets you know just how many flowers you will need. For this one I didn’t include any of the leaves but you can if you want.
014
Step 2: Prepare the flowers. Most of the tutorials I read instructed to wrap the stem of the flower around the base or lay it alongside and secure it with wire. Maybe my hands just aren’t that coordinated but this just wasn’t working for me. So I came up with another way. First pull the head of the flower off the stem, then pull the really hard and inflexible wire out of the flexible plastic coating. It’s a little tricky but eventually it comes loose. Cut a small piece of this flexible plastic stem and tacky glue it into the center. Then cut it level.
018019020
Cut a piece of the floral wire about 3 to 4 inches long, dab some glue on one end and insert it into this stem. Repeat with remaining flowers.
017
Step 3: Hot glue one end of the ribbon to the boning. Glue it at an angle so you can wrap it around without overlapping too much. Not overlapping much saves a lot of ribbon. Wrap it around 2 or 3 times.
021022Attach flowers by wrapping the floral wire around the boning. Don’t be impatient like me and start before the glue is dry.
024
Wrap the ribbon around the wire and the boning 2 or 3 more times and attach another flower. Repeat this all the way around and then hot glue the end of the ribbon. And you’re done.
026027
Now put it on your head and take some pictures!

13 thoughts on “Flower crown tutorial

  1. How cute – and totally inexpensive and easy, too! I like the flower crown. It reminds me of being a child and going to a festival called West Fest in West, Texas. I got dressed up in traditional Czech or German costume and often wore a cute flower crown that matched. 🙂
    I may need to whip one of these up for my 9 year old!

  2. This would be very cool for the little activities I do in my classroom. Great that I can find all the supplies in one place, too. Thanks for the tutorial.

  3. Oh my gosh! This is the cutest thing. It makes me want to go to a summer festival right now. I could also see making this for my daughter as a “princess” crown. Thanks for the tutorial!

  4. Thank you for sharing this flower crown post at City of Creative Dream’s City of Links last Friday! I loved this post so much that I chose it to be featured for this weeks party. 🙂 Go grab a button you deserve it!

Leave a Reply

