Art is something that I need in my life like oxygen, food and water. It soothes my soul, it stimulates my mind, it inspires me, it gives me hope when I need it.  Art allows us to look at the world through someone else’s eyes and the view is often quite different from there. That is why art expands the soul. Most of all art is meant to be shared so today I am going to share an artist whose paintings I could stare at for hours and continue to see new things in.

Sometimes an artist can bring attention to a period of history or a social issue that may be otherwise ignored or forgotten. Asad Faulwell’s latest series “Les Femmes D’Alger” spotlights the Algerian women who were involved in the War of Algerian Independence between 1954 and 1962. Many women served as nurses, cooks and fundraisers in the war to liberate Algeria from French occupation. But some served as combatants and spies quite effectively as they were able to get past checkpoints without suspicion.

Many of these women were instrumental in deadly attacks on the French and many of them were arrested, tortured and sentenced to death before the war ended and they were pardoned. After the war, these women returned to Algeria to fight for women’s rights in a new independent Algerian government that left them out.

Asad Faulwell’s own words about this series: “Many of my works reference Islamic, Jewish and Christian art as well as more contemporary methods of painting, digital media and collage. My works combines digitally manipulated photographs of historical figures cut out into geometric and organic patterns with carious elements of abstract painting. Some of the collage elements are flat others have dimensionality. Some of the paint is applied in layers of flat thin washes or opaque line work while other elements are applied with texture and dimensionality. Through my work I hope to re-examine history while also touching on the broader social, religious and politics issues related to these historical events that still effect our lives today.”

 

o-FEMMES-900

Les Femmes D Alger 1, 48×36 inches, 2012

slide_364596_4134340_free

Les Femmes D Alger #27, 40×30 inches

slide_364596_4134336_free

Les Femmes D’Alger #11, 84×60 inches, 2011

slide_364596_4134346_free

Les Femmes D Alger #39, 40×30 inches

Les femmes D'Alger #14, 48x36 inches, 2011

Les femmes D’Alger #14, 48×36 inches, 2011

I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing these paintings. I will be sharing other artists in the future. And I would love to know: What does art mean to you? Is it a part of your life that you notice or is it just kind of there?

5 thoughts on “

  1. I love this post! I have been working on a speech for my Advanced Public Speaking class that extols all the virtues of art, and why it is so important. A great message, thank you!

  2. Love the paintings…very haunting…

    Art is one of the ways Spirit expresses itself and touches others, including ourselves.

    I feel about writing and photography the way you feel about your art.

    Looking forward to seeing more 🙂
    Blessings.
    Penny

  3. Jill,
    I love the ceiling art. So beautiful! The last three seemed particularly beautiful with their flowing
    lines made to look like parat of a hejab almost. I saw something earlier on FB about the women’s resistance army of Algiers.
    Quite impressive. Strong women!
    Thank you for sharing your love of these art mosaics (look like)
    Amy

  4. Interesting artwork Jill, especially the emphasis on the eyes it seems. I love the aesthetics, the sense of touch of art modalities. I primarily love the creative and expressive arts though including performance art. What I love about the expressive arts is that it uses a variety of creative and artistic modalities AND that it is the process, not the end product that is important. Does that help? 😉 ❤

Leave a Reply

